Saturday, 12 September 2009

Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys - Ole Buttermilk Sky (1945-1947)

  • Nobody’s Darling But Mine
  • Grey Eagle
  • I’ll Get Mine
  • I’ll Keep On Loving You
  • My Brown Eyed Texas Rose
  • Moonlight On The Prairie
  • Patty On The Turnpike
  • Ole Buttermilk Sky
  • Smile, Darn You Smile
  • Hoppin’ Lucy aka Texas Two-Step
  • That’s How Much I Love You
  • Silver On The Sage Tonight
  • Who’s Sorry Now
  • Chicken Reel
  • Who’s Heart Are You Breaking Now
  • Don’t Fence Me In
  • I Don’t Know Why
  • On The Alamo
  • I’ll String Along With You
  • Roll On Little Dogies, Roll On
  • Sally Gooden No. 1
  • Silver Dew On The Bluegrass Tonight
  • Sleepy Rio Grande
  • Travelling Blues
  • Durang’s Hornpipe
Ahaaa! A man after my own heart.....with a razor! Ole Buttermilk Sky is made up of material recorded for the 'Tiffany' Company, but for some reason, never surfaced on the stunningly good 'Tiffany Transcriptions' series of cd's. The sound quality isn't as good as those, but it's still a hell of a lot better than the 'Presto' ones (which are dreadful!). The recording of 'Who's Sorry Now?' on here was the only time the Playboys put the tune to wax, it's a cracker too! There's also a nice version of 'Smile, Darn You Smile' worthy of your attention. Like Bob says in his introduction to 'Chicken Reel' (look out for the filthy manner in which he pronounces 'reel'!), 'move the bed back a little n' give pappy a chance, here comes one of them old buck n' wing types.....'

Clickety Click

No comments:

Post a Comment